Sip and Savor

A Practice in Gratitude

Chapter 14: Meaningful Work

Several months ago my co-workers and I had a debate about an article on the importance of loving your work. Our debate was primarily over whether or not it’s a modern fallacy that people should love their jobs.  Some of my co-workers argued that this was unrealistic and probably impossible.  They said it sets up an unattainable goal when the reality is that work is work and few can afford to pick a job solely on passion alone.  I remember feeling disappointed and angry at this perspective.  As a person who wants everything I do to have purpose, meaning, and passion, I believe work should bring us joy and energy.

And yet, I am also aware I say this from a place of privilege.  I have a solid education, a large network, and have been lucky enough to be in fields that challenge and inspire me.  Not everyone is so lucky.  Some people want to do different jobs but have no means to get there (both literally and figuratively).  Some people have financial constraints that prohibit them from doing anything but that which pays the bills.  Some people lack resources like education, time, and support of family and friends.  In my ideal worldview, I want everyone to bounce out of bed and head to fulfilling and lifegiving jobs.  In reality, my co-workers are right–this is pretty unrealistic for most people.  This disheartens me because we spend the majority of our time at work, so shouldn’t it be, well, better?

As I said, I have been lucky.  I have been blessed to love most of my jobs.  Initially I chose a career–Catholic ministry–that one can only choose out of sheer love because it pays peanuts.  You don’t do ministry for the money.  I think that is why I so vehemently debated my co-workers.  I had only chosen jobs out of love, so just assumed that is what everyone can and should do (note that I recognize the supreme arrogance and naivete in this statement…)  Is it possible for all of us to find joy and energy and purpose in our work?  Several months ago, I would have unequivocally said yes, but now I’m not so sure.

The past few months at my job have been difficult.  Really difficult.  We are going through a major restructuring in my department, and it is exciting and frustrating and overwhelming.  I have a great boss and wonderful colleagues, and I do believe good things are unfolding.  But in the interim, going to work has not been a fun thing for me.  I feel a total lack of passion right now.  I am tired, run-down, and apathetic.  This listless, lack of of energy has been really difficult because by nature I am extremely passionate about everything I undertake.  I want to be energized and engaged about my work.  And right now, I am not.  So does this mean my co-workers were right?  Is it an illusive dream to love what I do for a living?  The truth is, I’m not sure.  I’m hoping the truth lies somewhere in the middle.  Maybe it’s possible to to find joy and passion in any job AND to be realistic that this joy cannot and will not be sustainable every minute of every day.  Maybe it’s possible to have gratitude for my job and acknowledge it’s not going to always fill my energy tank.

When it comes down to it, I think for me, it’s essential that I am passionate about my work.  This does not mean every day I’m kicking up my heels in joy about what I do at work but rather that I find the purpose and value in my work.  In many past jobs I have found meaning and passion in little ways.  When I worked at Starbucks, I developed relationships with the regular customers and volunteered to use my expert organizing skills to make the store look great.  When I marketed credit cards at Busch Stadium (yes this was really one of my jobs), I made up funny chants and cheers to get people’s attention (which made me laugh and passed the time).  When I worked at an animal hospital, I declared myself human resource manager and put up inspirational quotes each week.  Little things make a big difference.  I’m working on this in my current job–finding little things to infuse energy into my work at a time when the reality is that my job is evolving and not always easy.  Reading inspiring articles, attending good trainings, engaging with positive colleagues, volunteering for new projects, and finding new ways to teach my classes are some of the small steps I’m taking to re-engage my work.  It’s not a magic solution but rather a way to find a middle ground, to gain energy, and to recognize that work can be both energizing and challenging at the same time.

When I look back on my debate with my colleagues, I know I was a bit naive but at the same time, I want to be part of a world where the work we do, day in and day out, matters and engages and inspires.  No matter what job I do, I can make choices to bring joy and life to that space, even in the smallest of ways.  It won’t always be fun to go to work.  It won’t always be exciting.  But I believe my approach to work matters.  I get to choose how I find meaning and purpose in my work.  No job is perfect but if I am willing to re-center myself in my values and what brings me to life, then maybe those 40 hours each week will have a bit more energy and joy.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment