Sip and Savor

A Practice in Gratitude

Chapter 1: Triumphant

On New Year’s Day I participated in a Commitment Day 5K in downtown St. Louis. Apparently these runs happen all over the country and are meant to start the new year off in a healthy way. So in the freezing cold, I put on my running tights and other warm gear and joined some friends to start 2015 with some cardiovascular activity. (And if you are not a runner and think this is the dumbest idea you have ever heard, well, you are probably right.)  I really wanted to get a PR at this race (for non-runners this means a personal record, which means beating my previous fastest time).  I thought, “What a great way to start my year, being faster than ever!” So when the race started, I took off and I felt good despite the long, steep hill that made up a majority of the first 2 miles of the course.  Things were going well and then the worst happened. I felt incredible stomach pains like I had never felt before. I knew I had to stop and walk and I was so mad. I kept thinking that now my great story would not be about how I was faster than ever but rather that I thought I might die or puke.  So I begin walking and I’m irritated and all these people are passing me and some friends waved as they went by and all I can think about is how this is NOT what I wanted to happen.  I probably looked ridiculous as I was breathing deeply to help the stomach cramps and was scowling about this turn of events.  Honestly, I was disappointed in myself. This was not how the new year was supposed to start. I was supposed to be really fast and show everyone how amazing I am as a runner and start my year in triumph. I really like things that are triumphant.

I don’t think I’m alone. The new year is such a gift. It’s a time to start over and try new things. It’s a new beginning. It’s a chance to be someone new and really make your life what you want it to be.  This is why people make resolutions. This is why I can’t get a treadmill at my gym for the month of January. People want to do big and bold things in the new year.  And while this is a wonderful thing, it’s no wonder March comes and resolutions are broken and the gym is empty again. I wonder if we set ourselves up for failure by expecting too much all at once. The new year is a gift–it’s not magic.  And truthfully any resolution, whether to run a faster race or eat healthy or be kinder to your coworkers, is going to take a lot of work. And there will most definitely be failures.  In an effort to live in gratitude and focus on the positive, I have decided to look at my non-triumphant 5K on New Year’s Day as a great metaphor for my upcoming year. I gave it my all and then I had a setback. But you know what, when my stomach felt better, I ran in the last mile.  It didn’t turn out like I thought but I didn’t give up and I did the best I could.  Perhaps if we approached our new year’s resolutions like that, we might actually keep some of them.

When I think about this next year, I really do want to try to sip and savor each experience. I want to be mindful of the beauty in my life and in this world because it can be so easy to focus on the negative.  I want to celebrate the triumphs and be humble in the defeats. Whether in running or work or relationships, I want to know that I am appreciating the goodness that is around me and being a source of goodness in the world.  So I’ll sign up for more 5Ks and see how they go and hopefully sometime this year I will get to write about I was faster than a speeding bullet. But until then I will keep embracing the newness of 2015 and all it has to offer, knowing that my triumphant moment may be just around the corner.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Chapter 1: Triumphant

  1. Not giving up and doing the best we can…great way to face 2015! Love reading your thoughts…excited about the 52 chapters of Meagan’s 2015!

    Like

Leave a comment